Poems from 3 a.m. on Christmas Eve

i was up late last night

1:
So I’m human.
And I’m feeling stupid.
And I have decisions to make,
Big ones,
Like moving across the country ones,
I don’t know what to do.

2:
I use poetry,
When I can’t figure it out.
I use essays,
When I have something to say.
And I don’t write at all
When I have someone to talk to.

3:
I’ll never uncomplicate,
I’ll forget I was upset.

4:
I’m watching this for you.
You said it was good.
Then asked again if I had seen it.
I wanted so much to have something of yours,
Now I’m watching this for you.
This odd-eyed voice-over walk the city streets,
Maybe I would have liked it, if I’d found it myself.
But I can’t get over how much this isn’t meant for me.

5:
I can’t take a photo today.
I’m not seeing it,
The different way of looking,
The way that will make it better.
I keep clicking and deleting
Waiting for one thing good.

6:
I’m listening to the songs I always hear.
They’re a comfort when they don’t change.
It’s why I dislike live music,
Something can go wrong, with what I love so much,
Just, exactly, very much, perfectly
How it is.

7:
I forgot how frustrating it is.
To be around someone who wishes you were different.

7 thoughts on “Poems from 3 a.m. on Christmas Eve

  1. wfdec

    “I use poetry,
    When I can’t figure it out.
    I use essays,
    When I have something to say.
    And I don’t write at all
    When I have someone to talk to.”
    Now that is what I call a very neat summary of how a lot of us feel.

    Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

