Poems from My Weekend

really these should be called poems i wrote a sunday afternoon but scheduled for later
1:
Dammit there was something I was going to say.
It was going to be good –
The best –
But I didn’t write it down.
“I’ll remember.”

2:
Every once in a while,
I come across a word I’ve never written.
I check the spelling – I check the placement of the “e.”
I wonder how it is I’ve never written that before.
I determine to write more.

3:
I met an old friend from college
With her advisors and the other two-year, grad students.
God, I’ve missed being around smart people.
Who will push me,
And not mock me for knowing too much about something they don’t.
God they weren’t trying to sell me anything, it was lovely.
They didn’t care about me –
and told me so.
God it was marvelous.
And he dismissed me once I told him I wasn’t going back to school.
God I love that – that ignorance of the practical necessities of every-day working.
Oh, the majesty.
I miss being told I’m stupid. I miss not having a reason to learn.

4:
I want to start over.
I want to have the know I have now sometime else.

5:
I’m never sure when the fears I have will continue, “for the rest of my life.”
My back hurts –
My ribs ache –
My knees creak –
I’ll always be alone.

6:
My mother always says, “in the grand scheme of things.”
To give herself perspective. Like,
In the grand scheme of things, this decision I’m making right now isn’t important.
“And I just don’t want to ruin it for the rest of you.”
“I don’t want your memories to be bad.”
She seems fixated on the idea,
The importance of memories,
And not ruining them,
Like,
Somehow,
That will heal the old ones.

7:
I interviewed and said I was good with people.
Then proceeded to be awkward for twenty minutes.

6 thoughts on “Poems from My Weekend

  1. Claudia McGill

    I love #4 I remind myself that today I do have the know, at least, that I didn’t have!. #7, I often think memories are parasitic.. #5 will not happen to you – take it from me. OK, that’s today’s heavy handed advice – feel free to ignore and instead, follow this – Happy Tuesday to you.

    Reply
    1. some bad plankton Post author

      The worst memories are the ones that won’t ever leave you. They cycle and cycle and cycle. Thanks for the advice. I very well may ignore it, but it’s nice to have all the same.

      Reply
      1. Claudia McGill

        I know that cycle thing. I wonder why it is only bad memories that want to do that? No one ever says, I can’t get that great vacation/day/work experience/whatever out of my head, do they?!?

        Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

