My Week (7/6)

A few paragraphs on what I can’t get out of my mind in early July.

You don’t want me. You want a woman who’ll tell you you’re the greatest. I won’t lie to you. You want a flouncy, thin beauty with a button nose and that kind of history. You can’t handle my mess. And I can tell you what you can handle, because I’m stronger than you are, and you don’t argue with me. Find someone with lovely eye sparkles who knows how to put on subtle. Talk to her about her blushing secrets and tampons. You can’t brush with complexity. And you still suck at grammar.

We treat these people who care like wild flowers we want to press inside novels with hardback covers we’ll pretend to our friends we’ve read. That’s how rare these strange creatures are in our lives of you can’t shock me anymore. We’ve seen it all. You cannot offend us. We have no scruples. Until you hit a nerve, because they’re so well hidden. You show us a gif of a woman’s legs breaking backwards and that’s it. We lose it. But we’re invisible so it doesn’t matter that we don’t care.

Folk music is about people. There’s isn’t a pop fault veneer. It says this is the way it is. This is the way these people lived. And you’ll love them for it. It says I know the person you’re singing about, I’ve met her, she is me. There’s no glancing over pain. The pain is there with the beauty and the winter and the gloom. They’re always simple songs, it’s like I don’t need mixing to show you how I feel. The songs are clear. They open themselves up with a guitar and a story, and say sit down for a minute, and I’ll tell you about me. These are the people who are barely getting by saying, I’m gonna live with music. And I won’t die with nothing. And that’ll be just the way it is. These are the songs you need not to get through the bad times, but to get through the good.

The switch in my brain just swotched and now I know I’m talking too much.

There’s nothing left of me now. All gone and empty. They took it all. I can feel where the thoughts used to be.

19 thoughts on “My Week (7/6)

  1. personatus50

    Suddenly feel like listening to “It ain’t me, babe”, by Dylan. This is good, isn’t it? Please tell me it is. 🙂

    Reply
      1. billgncs

        When I played rugby many years ago I had a roommate who used to say “While other guys are sleeping, I’m working out” – but in life and love, sometimes we limit others who might surprise us and grow stronger 🙂

        Reply
      1. eebrinker

        i kind of know what you mean. writing helps. only thing that keeps me sane some days. people can be difficult, so remind myself that can’t fix stupid. just say to yourself that you can’t fix stupid. it can help, and is not really defeat when you move on and concentrate on what deserves your time.

        the day will smile when you do

        Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

