Poems from my Week (6/1)

Guys, guys, are you seeing this? I’m actually keeping to my schedule. I just cannot believe it. It is, in fact, unbelievable

1:
Come on, preserve my sanity, I dare you.
I bet you could break me if you wanted. So do it.
You’re so close already.
You think you’re my life line, what’s holding me here.
Prove it.

2:
I am more than what you see between my hairclips and my shoelaces. I have to be.
I have to be something more, because
Otherwise,
Well,
I’m not sure, but it’ll be unsatisfying as hell.

3:
I don’t know what to do with myself, or what it is I think I might be feeling. So I’ll go buy something. Or, maybe just think about starting the car, to leave, to be free, to run. Run in my car, and buy something, to feel better.
I thought this an hour ago, and I’m still here. And still here.

4:
If I could show you how I felt, I would clap till my hands turned to ground beef.
But I don’t know what to say.
So I’ll say what I always say to you, which is hedged bets and a plastic mold of a heart.

5:
I screwed up a bit. Not a lot. Just a little.
And I’ll be agonizing over that for the whole week,
I’ll get distracted and really mess something big up,
But not care, because I could have prevented this whole catastrophe in the first place.

6:
My goodness found a stamp.
It peeled off the backing and wrote an address.
It mailed itself to someone who was a bit better and felt a bit more.

7:
She must have realized she was talking down to me.
She must have processed who she was talking to.
She can’t be that cold, but wait who am I talking about.

8:
I memorize songs, so I can keep track of time in the shower.
I think the same train of thought so I can reorient myself.
I count my fingers when I can’t breathe.

9:
She spent so much money. Just all in one go, no problem.
I have to be careful where my twenties fall.
I can’t be loaned out later.
I hate that she doesn’t have to worry,
And doesn’t have to keep track.

10:
I met a boy who wore a purity ring.
It took too much strength not to make fun.
People must hate me, always sarcastic that one.

12 thoughts on “Poems from my Week (6/1)

  1. suchled

    I met a boy who wore a purity ring.
    It took too much strength not to make fun.
    People must hate me, always sarcastic that one.
    And I taught in a school that tried to implement the concept but it was too much an adult pressuring kids to act the way the adults wanted them to act and putting guilt on them. Really bad plankton that.

    Reply
  2. Periodically Demented

    I’m cynical about your total cynicism. You’re not just sweet, either. Sometimes you forget yourself and you come across as witty, insightful, articulate, abstract, interesting, artistic, and intelligent. Sorry to damn you with so much praise. 😀 Total cynic? H’yeah, right.

    PS. I liked #2. It was … cute. Sorry, I didn’t mean to be insulting. 😉

    Reply
        1. some bad plankton Post author

          I’m sweet! Did you hear that world? Someone doesn’t think I’m a total cynic.
          But, seriously, I try to say: this is what I’m doing, this is what I’m feeling, this is how it is. And I’m really glad that’s coming across.

          Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

