Someone New

I say hello.
Do I have to shake his hand,
Can I get away with a casual wave and not have to touch you,
What name do I tell you?
I don’t like my own name,
It sticks to the tongue,
And there are too many syllables,
I’ve never said the thing with confidence,
I don’t have enough friends to pull off the
“My friends call me…”
I’m sure I’ve worn my crazy eyes today,
I should make eye contact,
That’s the one thing I can do well,
I can say,
Look at my strength in my eyes.
I can hold you here for a second.
I forgot his name already.

3 thoughts on “Someone New

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

