10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Seventy-Five)

Happy seventy-five days of writing poetry. Unlike usual, I’ve tried to rhyme and use rhythm and meter and schemes more than I typically do. Seventy-five days in a row. I feel old.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 75

Poem 1:
I’ll build a highway back to you
To find you where I left you fast
To find you when I knew
You, you were the one I’d love last.

Poem 2:
I woke up thinking
It can’t be this late
Why hasn’t my body aching
Awaken straight.
So I didn’t sleep so long.

Poem 3:
I don’t want to feed your cat
There’s really nothing I like about that
I’ll have to drive all the way up there
But I love you, I swear
Just don’t make me feed your cat.

Poem 4:
He wrote a list
To cross off this
All the happenings to do today
He wrote it on a scrap, stray of paper
He put that in order, now if only
He could put her in place

Poem 5:
I’m sorry you’re getting divorced
And that I know the cause
I’m so sorry about the laws
And the reinforced pause of love
Because I think you’re unstable
And I wish you were able
To be on your own

Poem 6:
I’d like to trace
Exactly with a line
Why you said that just in case
I misunderstood and you were kind
Because the way you said it
Sounded mean but commonplace

Poem 7:
My tumbly
Is all rumbly
I sing that song.
And I think of the hundred acre woods
With Pooh and Tigger and neighborhoods
And I wish I had a community
Support and sustained in a tree

Poem 8:
I got to watch
While they fought in the front
The anger seems to be constant
And it’s done in an instant
But I had to watch the silent shouldn’ts fight

Poem 9:
She put me in a spot where every move I made required apology
I could have picked either way to agree to her plan or mine
But it would end badly
With me on the wrong end of the line
Crying I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m stuck in this spot.

Poem 10:
I’ve noticed that those who
Treat women slightly badly
But won’t admit they do
Won’t notice sadly
All the harm they move
From their brains to hers

8 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Seventy-Five)

  1. sonmicloud

    1,3,6,7,8,9 you’re rhyming experiment has been fruitful *smiesl* the cat one made me laugh too and I found some of them quite moving. Number six is my favourite. Do you take any of your fast poems and use them as a skeleton to build into larger, like a sketch becoming a painting? Just curious. Oh yes, and happy 75th! Quite an achievement *more smiles*

    – sonmicloud

    Reply
    1. some bad plankton Post author

      I do use the shorter poems to make something better. But most often I find that when I try to make them better, they turn out worse. Funny how that works.

      Thank you for your kind words.

      Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

