10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Fifty-Seven)

Welcome to October, in case no one welcomed you yet. Please read my poems.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 57

Poem 1:
You wanna get an attitude with me
I can get an attitude with you
I don’t need to put you on the car insurance.
Screams rifle upstairs
The first of the teenage battles.
How quickly he finds the parental boundaries of love.
Their voices sound so similar
When raised in anger.

Poem 2:
I shut the trunk
My keys locked in
Helpless and stranded
It’s, how, nothing I can do
I sit on the trunk
Metal seems so thin
I wait on metal for the little metal I need
Pieces of metal, bits
I use one to call for a spare
Metal metal metal
Simpler with less, worse if I can’t call.

Poem 3:
Went to buy paperclips
On an errand
She just said paperclips
There’s a whole section
I don’t need options
Just give me the box
A box
One package of paperclips
You’ve made me put so much
Into this little task
Blue or pink or silver
I just wanted damn paperclips

Poem 4:
A little blond boy and his mom
Walked with their dog in the park
I passed then on the left
Her idea for sure
Let’s go so we can say we went
It sounds so nice
A nice idea
To say, to say to yourself
I walked with my son in the trees
Next to the river
Even though they looked forlorn
And he seemed bored

Poem 5:
I’ve made good at stopping friends
I mastered how to make them step away
Inch and inches farther from me
Once they did something I disliked
Call less
Decline once
Look that a way

Poem 6:
Who I saw in Goodwill today
Older couple speaking Spanish digging through plates of brown used china
Two teen brown haired boys with popped collars and skater shoes
A grandma with the old white woman’s afro sketching through sweaters
Pack of high school girls giggle gazing at dresses and gowns
Middle aged woman who talked to the cashier in a voice
Sounded as though she hadn’t spoken to anyone else today.
I don’t belong here with my money.

Poem 7:
Nothing sounded good
No food
Upset at myself
Won’t eat at myself

Poem 8:
If I wore a pink sparkly ball gown
Into the halls of government
To proclaim we’re all beautiful
And dusted passerbys with fairy magic dust glitter
It would be fun.
Let me go insane
So I can have fun.

Poem 9:
Well if my opinion doesn’t matter
Then I won’t say anything at all.
His retort to losing an argument.
Self-deprecation at your hands.
Cannot change course to cope
With a varying mood from another
All must deal with him.

Poem 10:
It wasn’t even to the point
Where I remember what I did.
Only that he told me.
You’re the reason I went back to smoking.
Being the first time I’d heard that phrase
I took it for true.
Fault, mine, responsible to accept it.

One thought on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Fifty-Seven)

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

