10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Fifty-Three)

I wore my favorite necklace yesterday. Favorite things are fun.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 53

Poem 1:
He drove us to the wrong steakhouse
I knew we were going to the wrong place
But I didn’t say anything
I waited for him to be wrong.
I didn’t want to get wrath of
“Are you sure.”
Then anger because he was wrong
So I waited while we drove to the right one
Him fuming all the way

Poem 2:
I said his eyes are captivating
He said you’re captivating.
I brushed off the compliment
Silly, unrefined, he’s just joking
I lost him, I could be free with
After he started flirting

Poem 3:
I see other people in movies
It’s where I make my friends
These people I can see on screen
Talk to me
In my house
So I say hello friend
Welcome back
Let’s drink

Poem 4:
After I didn’t clean up
Or say thank you
For his getting me something new
He said, I’ll never buy you anything ever again.
He forgot that threat
I started using it as a joke.
Oh you’re late?
I’ll never sit next to you for the rest of my life.

Poem 5:
I wanted to break it off with him
But I didn’t know what to say
I thought, there’s nothing wrong with you
I should like you as you are
But I’m two straw hairs from saying
Ick
So I used an excuse that was true
But not the real why
My Grandma just died all my emotions are tied there
I’m sorry.
But really, you’re too peppy, it hurts my head.

Poem 6:
When you love the whole world
Before or after the whiskey
They should ship you out to depressed people
Go to them and say
I love you. I love you. I love you.
I’ll know you’re drunk
But you’ll be wonderful.

Poem 7:
What do you want from me
She screamed at me
During the Christmas vacation
I had driven the four hours to get to.
Nothing, I stared blank eyed.
Nothing I want nothing.
I don’t attach any more.
So they can’t say I’m clinging.
I won’t bother you any longer.
No love from sisters.
I’ll just respond to you when spoken to.

Poem 8:
I carry a sewing kit she used to put on the buttons that fall off her shirt from the shape of a heart
Thanks for the thread
She tells me in class after she’s been sewing over her chest for ten minutes
To the attention of all the boys
Jealous of attention
Or of the love in the eyes of her boy

Poem 9:
I get an urge to start running
My legs, mind twitchy
Let’s go to get out of here
Crunch the toes on my foot
I need to move
Use this holding cells body

Poem 10:
I hate the fall
Nothing good happens in fall
The bugs aren’t dead yet
It’s hot and cold both
Fickle dumbbutt
And it’s everyone’s favorite season
Just because of colors
It doesn’t smell like anything in the air

3 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Fifty-Three)

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

