10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Forty-One)

It’s been raining all day here.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 41

Poem 1:
She said, don’t I know you
And called me my sister’s name
Then she smiled and said sorry.
I’ll meet a grand diviner
Who’ll look at me
And call me another’s name.
I’m blameless for myself this way
If the name doesn’t exist neither
Will the person.

Poem 2:
Her line is:
I can’t control how other people react
I can only control what I say
Or something like that
I think that gives the perfect letter
Of accountability

Poem 3:
My spider plant grows eleven arms
When I turn it sideways, just the right way, it looks like two
When you look at it from your angle
Easy, this caused this
From mine there’s eleven
That may or may not be a branch

Poem 4:
I cried driving home from an errand
A task I was set to do
They asked me to go out
In thunder and waves
To give the brother,
Who’s car you’re rightfully using,
His knee pads he left upstairs
Well he needs them for the game
In case it clears up
Of course you should take them
What else are you doing
Nothing, yes, I’m nothing
And he has to have those pads if
He’s going to play
He really is their son

Poem 5:
You didn’t come
Well, you didn’t ask me to
I didn’t think you would
I would have canceled my thing
The school sent you an email
Maybe I could have gone for a minute
It’s ok, it’s over now
But, I know, you said, you didn’t want me there
I did?
Are you trying to make me feel guilty on purpose?
Blame is so much fun.

Poem 6:
She’s going to Italy
All the way there
Tagging along on a business trip
I guess she’s ok being a wife now
So she has support, instead of ambition

Poem 7:
Surely this is last straw
Must be
The belt around your waist holds up
All your grains of final straws
Last one, it must be
I can take more
Degrade the degraded at will
I’m not leaving
Till all these last straws crack

Poem 8:
My fears from yesterday
Seem so silly
So that I laugh at anyone
Still stuck there
At me
And when I hear about
Another with the same fear
I stand straight
As if I’ve overcome that already

Poem 9:
Friday night
I put on my best black dress
With lace and a tie in back that crisscrossed
I stood mirror side for twenty minutes
Eyelashes perfect cat tailed
Rolled on smells to my wrists
Brushed my hair till it shone
Curtailed these nails
Practiced walking in the tallest of heels
Sat on my bed
Crying for no one
And no where to be

Poem 10:
He drives a big white work van
And gives you what you ask for
Without telling her
So that you have some secret pact
That sticks you to him
With a little grin
Don’t tell your mom
But we’ll eat in the living room
I’ll buy your love with the bits
Of course nots, how could yous
You’ll have to like me if we’re
Keeping hidden chocolate together

2 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Forty-One)

  1. storyfairy

    These poems are good, too.
    Are any of them based on actual experiences? Just curious, because they seem like they might be, and most of my poems are based on personal experience.
    By the way, I tried this challenge today, and I succeeded! This is the first time I tried this challenge. Some of the poems I wrote I will post on my blog.

    Reply
    1. some bad plankton Post author

      I’m so glad you liked some more poems.
      Most of these are based on personal experiences. Poems 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 8 happened to me today. Poem 2 is a direct quote from a family member. Poems 5, 9, and 10 are based on memories.
      This whole challenge thing is new to me. I’ll check yours out.

      Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

