10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-Seven)

Poems. I wrote these all in a row. Note, for the ten of your who are reading this without prior knowledge, one of the dogs in the house died yesterday. Doggy death is on the mind.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 37

Poem 1:
Take off that smile
Nasty grin that says I won
Chance chose me
Must be a reason
I’m greater than you
For this luck I’ve got

Poem 2:
All vets
About to kill your dog for you
Should be required to say
You’re making the right decision
Our did
Now I can hate her instead of guilt me

Poem 3:
Dad told us on the way back home
About his cancer
I hit the back of the seat
To shut them up so I could hear
Is that what abusers do?
Lose track for a second
And hit a person instead of a chair
How do you get your sanity back
Without committing an act

Poem 4:
Unconscious ramblings scare me
What I say when asleep
Or in that bit when I think I can still
Think
Anyone who hears
Holds power of me
Has the secrets I share quiet

Poem 5:
She said will you go with me
To take Ashley to the place
Of course
I’ll sit with you while they kill your dog
What else am I good for
But a body in a room
Watching someone cry

Poem 6:
I spoke and displeased the wrath
Can’t talk any longer
If she thinks you don’t agree
For there must be no argument
She holds the better knowledge
Untested and sure
That’s what she’s built on
Better than you

Poem 7:
Dress with a black skirt tied to a cream ruffled
I can never wear that again
Because it held on
Standing in the parlor
With the fluffed up body
Of that woman who was a woman
Ten years ago
Before her bits of brain went black
And she threw out her insurance papers
These people keep talking out loud
To me
My eyes shift over to the thing in a box
So close to me
Close the damn lid

Poem 8:
I had to say it
The sweet nothings
On the drive home
Put aside all my reserves about lying
Not saying truth exact
And speak nonsense
To the woman who lost her dog

Poem 9:
So quiet now
No one got me up at four am
Squealing in pain and agony
Front paw bent backwards
With what they think might be spine cancer
Slept through
She was in pain
Doesn’t mean she should have to die
A mercy killing
How quaint
We still killed her in our care

Poem 10:
I have no one I can talk to
Without reserve or penance
I talk to my hands
They can’t go anywhere

3 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-Seven)

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

