10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-Six)

I wrote me some poems, oh yeah, ten of them, check it.

I Wrote 10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 36

Poem 1:
She told me the pills in the bottle
With the blue lid
Kill the pain
She said, give her as many as she needs
Permission to OD my dog

Poem 2:
I have no memory of this
It didn’t happen

Poem 3:
Some nice day
I’ll see the sun rise
And say hello to the sun
Instead of why god why

Poem 4:
In two months
I’ll miss the heat my skin can hold
After sitting in the car
Sunroof open
Tilted back seat
Warmth on my face
But now I miss
Breathing fog
Getting warm after being cold

Poem 5:
Not enough money
I didn’t know at the time
So the car shook
Engine gulfed with noise
Back window always slid down an inch
Rusted paint speckles on the old red doors
We kept it for its charm

Poem 6:
Let’s go to a movie
You guys know my dad just lost his job
We can’t afford that
So we stopped inviting her
No guilt then
When she couldn’t join

Poem 7:
Stood over the stove
Stirring in the potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans
For her friend that has cancer
We only care about the friend that has cancer
Because that cancer runs in the family
If we can take care of this woman
Someone will take care of me
If she doesn’t die
I won’t die

Poem 8:
It used to be
I’d hear him yell
Tense up, freeze
Now I can’t quite tell
If I’m used to the anger
Or more angry myself

Poem 9:
I wait
Patiently to see
What the straw will be
That finally breaks
Takes and pummels
My camel’s back
Will it be the indignity of insults
Or the asked forced labor
Or the clean up
That finally gets me out of the house

Poem 10:
She ran into my Mom at the store
Oh you know, Esther’s getting married
No, really
Yeah, just getting the last minute things all set
Mom told me, the one, your good friend from school
‘s having a wedding
Chole got married too
I saw the photos online
Whole group was there
They weren’t nice to you anyway

5 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-Six)

  1. billgncs

    you covered alot of ground here. In #5 in my day, the kids who’s families didn’t have much used to joke that their cars were 1/2 duct tape. Mine might have shared that attribute.

    Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

