10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-One)

I think anyone who reads my poems is pretty. Which, de facto means I’m pretty, which I was totally going for.

10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 31

Poem 1:
Six of us traveled up to the holler, mission trip
We couldn’t mission near us
We worked to stock the food bank, we did
This great big warehouse with shelves to the sky
They got a new shipment
Had us categorize and sort
It was green peppers from prisoners
They grew peppers
I just wanted to wash my hands
I thought one of them hid drugs or shivs in the plants
I convinced myself their evil would touch me
On what they grew
But if the ground grew for them, I guess
They’re probably ok

Poem 2:
She said you’re more animated when he’s not around.
Otherwise I’m a still life.
Which causes less drama.

Poem 3:
I can’t believe I did this
I, I wrote you
No I can’t even say it
I wrote you a love song
It rhymes and everything
I plucked out the piano keys
Recorded it for you
And rhymed love with thought of
Worst thing ever

Poem 4:
I drugged myself today with lack of sleep
Brain doesn’t work as well
It gives me permission to be silly
Without analysis
I smile

Poem 5:
Needed to use my body to move
I wore shoes without good treads but
I walked up this hill with tree roots and trail marks
Stood on the top of the king of the mountain
Saying I am the best in the world

Poem 6:
Heat on my skin from the outside
Been in the air, conditioned too long
I’ll miss this heat when green begets orange
But for now it’s just a place to avoid

Poem 7:
They won’t kill her yet
This dog, my dying dog
My brother he can’t bear to part
But she can’t hardly stand
He can’t hardly stand
So we’ll let her suffer for him

Poem 8:
How am I going to remember this summer?
What will be the memory I go back to
Hmm
Or will it fall in line with the others
All blurred into general worry

Poem 9:
I won’t brush my hair
I will not make myself beautiful for you
That piece of hair is gonna stay there
I’ll muss it around without care
I don’t preen to be seen
My hair doesn’t care

Poem 10:
Well I saw Randy with another girl
Boy I always thought liked me
He looks better than
I wanted him to be
Made just for me forever

9 thoughts on “10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Thirty-One)

  1. Claire Marie O'Brien

    .The rows of green peppers.

    The rows of men
    The hoes under the bright sun..

    Prisoners aren’t evil.
    Prisons are.

    The rows of cells:

    In the last one on the right
    a boy can’t comprehend
    forty years.

    One million Black men.

    Reply
    1. some bad plankton Post author

      Oooo! I like this! Let me have a go.

      They’ll get better with seeds
      Gardeners steal hope from tomorrow
      Theft is what we’re here for
      Hope needs stolen
      These chains, my chains, our chains
      Might grow something worthwhile
      Grow the peppers for the poor
      So someone out there can be fed
      They won’t turn out like you
      Do what they say all the ideas
      Willingly shoulder to plows shared
      Good time, free time, their time
      Work for the plants
      For the sun, our sons, and gold

      Reply

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

