10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Fourteen)

This marks two weeks of daily poetry. Two weeks. I could have gone on a magazine diet by now.

10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 14

Poem 1:
I stayed up late last night
The first hour I said I’ll wait till the end of this chapter
Then I’ll wait till the top of the hour
I waited up until the sun showed up
I’ll spend my life waiting for what I’m waiting on

Poem 2:
I made biscuits
My father used to make biscuits for me
He would take our order while we watched cartoons on the couch
What would the girls like
He could make anything up
8 1/2 minutes later on a plate with the bottom crusts cut off I would have weekend breakfast
… But my biscuits I started from scratch
And they tasted better
My dad seemed a little less of a genius
But I felt more betrayed

Poem 3:
I say the words out loud one after another
I start reading when I can’t focus
Then the zone sucks me in
It takes a second to remember my name again

Poem 4:
She said are you mad
I couldn’t look her in the eyes
She said did I do something wrong
I said I was making quesadillas
She said are you going to tell me
I stared at the granite cutting board
I said no. I’m not going to tell you
And she called after me because I didn’t give her what she wanted not because I was upset

Poem 5:
The jewelry box that sits on my dresser isn’t mine
Grandma’s
I think how she would have looked at it
Get mad that her mind died before I could know her
If she was like my father only worse, I don’t know if I’m glad to have missed

Poem 6:
I hunch my shoulder blades up so the dress kicks up that extra half inch
My reach my arm around and stretch
I try for that zipper
I pull the front way down so my other hand can lunge and strain it up
Loved women don’t worry about zippering themselves
They stay whole

Poem 7:
He went to school the same route they always took
From raceway to twenty second
Hoping the sun wouldn’t be in his eyes again since they were on time
The walk from the parking to the doors didn’t clear his head
He just felt guilty and what not
Failing to get done what he shouldn’t have to do

Poem 8:
When I finally left and got to make my own friends
I chose people who were not like me
On purpose or not

Poem 9:
Birthday I turned drinking into life
She invited herself down to stay
My backbone gave way
She told her friends to come to my day
Then she didn’t talk to my people
And they went scared and shy
Just like me
So we sat quiet at my own table because my presence wasn’t enough to bring thoughtfulness to my would-be people

Poem 10:
I recite the Lord’s Prayer in the rhythm of my father who spat it from his wooden throne
His intonations and his cadence
His hand motions and his pacing
From memory I call upon that never ceasing image of his preaching
Hoping the wrath of god won’t find me if I’m still
Quiet and still

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

