10 Poems in 20 Minutes (Day Seven)

7 days in a row makes a week. Hoo hoo.

10 Poems in 20 Minutes
Day 7

Poem 1:
Here I move
Thinking this will be the last time I see her
This will be the last I step over her body
I check again, again
See if the ribs move
She breathes just barely
That dying dog outside my door

Poem 2:
She smiles at me
That smile courteous no more
Look at all we can do this November
But I don’t want to be here till then
I want to find a home
With rooms that only I walk
I want a place where only I move
Somewhere that lets walled

Poem 3:
I go to the doctor to feel like a sheep
Fill this out, don’t look at her face
Sit down here, read this magazine
Move this way
Wait just a minute and we’ll carve your checkbook
He’ll be with you shortly
To tell you all that’s wrong
Before he slices you up
And offers it to office chairs

Poem 4:
Don’t say it to me
I won’t return that thing
I’ll just cringe and try not to move my expression
Then I flee
I can’t say it
It’s been too long

Poem 5:
The point I’m at
Past when I could have responded
Too late now
But later I’ll think I could have done it right then
If only I had
Then I wouldn’t be here
And this wouldn’t be
That’s better

Poem 6:
I do something really well, no
I preform multiple tasks adequately
No Ingre’s violin for me

Poem 7:
The first I met you
I thought
What a pretentious snot-nose hipster asshole
The second time I met you
I thought
We have a lot in common
If he weren’t sanctimonious we could be friends
The third time I met you
I didn’t speak to you at all
There was nothing to notice

Poem 8:
Why can’t I make myself do this thing
It doesn’t work
I say, yo
Dude
You need to get this done
You can’t keep sitting here
It doesn’t work
Yelling doesn’t work
I just hate myself in louder tones

Poem 9:
Bounce and beat and move to the rhythm of the tone of the style to the flow of the sound that you hear
And
Know to the places that you go to the hearts that you see to the mystery of love and life and music

Poem 10:
I will not cut my hair
Stayed with me since I had bad underwear in gym class
This clump fell loose during prom
Bit got singed over the candle trying to make a fingerprint in wax
If I cut it, no one will remember

And these strands have been there so long
Chopped into pixies
Pinned into bangs
Wrestled into braids
Witness to it all

Who else knows
Tips blonde from lemon juice and sun and pool trying to have lighter hair with no money
Fumigated in my pink fluffy princess dress
Wrapped around this one hot curler the first time I tried to get that perfect spiral

I can’t cut it now
It’s been with me too long
Junk to someone else
But it’s close to me and my thoughts
The one part of me that’s pretty pretty

Replies, Responses, Thoughts, or Comments?

